Death

Last weekend, I was physically attacked by one of my immediate next-door neighbours, who decided to punch me multiple times in the back of the head, and started to strangle me — whether in the intention of killing me or not, I can only guess. (I have not discussed the matter with him since, and I am sleeping on a friend’s balcony)

What struck me, and frankly surprised me, was that during this attack, when I was quite unable to breathe, having prayed to God and the Virgin, I had no fear nor anger in the face of this possible death, but just a simple kind of curiosity, thinking “Will I die now ?” …

… I’m rather glad I didn’t, and I rather hope that you others are as well.

Ave Maria, gratia plena
Dominus tecum benedicta tu in mulieribus
Et benedictus fructus ventris tui Jesus
Sancta Maria, Mater Dei,
Ora pro nobis peccatoribus,
Nunc et in hora mortis nostrae
Amen

21 thoughts on “Death

  1. Well Jabba, I am rather shocked at this. We at CPS should come down there mobhanded and give him a fucking good kicking.

    But as I think you are in the South of France, this is mere emotional support.

    You have obviously thought about why he did this, but I don’t expect to share it here.

    I am really at a loss. Whatever tensions were between you do not warrant such violence.

    You will feel uneasy about living there now. I’m sorry to say that only the threat of a great clunking fist will make him back off. Sorry, I am no Gandhi.

    Feeble as it is to say, I support you.

  2. Tho’ I know almost nothing of this, it may be important to go back home and don’t let him think he has won. He has not, but he needs to know it.

    Excuse me for talking of something of which I know little.

  3. .
    Well, Toad is shocked of course and very relieved that you are not dead.
    Proustian moment reading this.
    I recalled being hit by a car when riding my motor scooter centuries

    ago, when I was a Mod. As I flew (literally) through the air, I had
    enough time to think quite calmly, “Am I going to die in a moment?” but no time to consider my feelings regarding this eventuality before I landed.

    (Quite badly bruised, but more or less OK. )

    In practical terms, if you need to get away for a bit, consider coming to Moratinos to chill, as our guest. You know where it is.

  4. Dear Jabba,
    I wish I could give you a big hug and say how deeply relieved I am that you are still alive and kicking!
    Having only just read this news now, like Pastorious and Toad, my first instinct was shock and anger, and then, click, I relaised what had happened. The devil would like you dead, and he used this neighbour (‘tool’), and perhaps some neighbourly dispute, to try to eliminate you. Thank God, the Blessed Virgin and all the angels and saints, that he did not succeed.

    That you feel no anger yourself towards this man is very Christlike of you, but hopefully you will still denounce his action to the police. Causing grievous bodily harm with the intent to kill is a serious crime, and he is a liability to others too if allowed to go scott free.

    Please let us know how your recovery goes.
    We were all getting worried thinking you were ill…… no one could have imagined anything as outlandish as this.

    God Bless you.

  5. Jabba – even Kathleen agrees about “kicking”. !!!πŸ™‚

    She is right – you must make a formal complaint, recorded. Even if nothing comes of that, you have it on record should he threaten again.

  6. Toad is quite right – “quitte ton trou”! πŸ™‚

    You are needed over on CP&S where there has been an outbreak of sillyness (in which I am hugely guilty) . I hear the sharpening of knives or the knotting of the hangman’s noose for me, and I think you should be in to see the last moment. Now I can’t say fairer than that for an offer.πŸ™‚

    Don’t forget too, that the Mayans it seems have said our number’s up on the 21st (?) Dec. Do you know that at Bougerach (SW France) people are gathering to be scooped up by UFO’s? Will I book you a place?

    So not much time left to pop up and tell us what’s what with you. πŸ™‚

  7. Thank you for all your comments.

    At the moment I’m still sleeping on my friend’s terrace (which I love doing by the way, pilgrim as I am forever in my heart), and rediscovering the simple joy of staying with a friend instead of with fools like these, and (finally !!!) starting to receive the health care I’ve been so desperate for.

    Not commenting much here nor there, as my friend is internet-free, but you are all of you in my heart.

  8. Good to hear from you J! Yes simplicity can be a tonic, and a reminder of what is really important. Your tone is much better, I’m glad to say.πŸ™‚

  9. Jabba – I posted a message of support to you on CPS. For reasons unknown to man, Raven felt that to support you was argumentative. God knows why he said this; It is a disgrace.

    I continue to support you, despite people who offered nothing here.

  10. I have asked God in my heart to forgive this man, so that attempting any acts of vengeance or whatsoever retaliation would be both inappropriate and uncatholic.

    More practically, I will be moving somewhere else in the next month or two.

  11. But he almost killed you Jabba! Isn’t he a danger to others as well?

    I’m very happy to hear you are recovering well and have plans for the future. (I must say, it was a bit of a surprise to hear you were not receiving proper health care before this incident!) I shall continue to keep you in my prayers and look forward to more of your interesting posts and wise comments soon to come….. we hope!πŸ™‚

  12. Jabba. Over on CP&S they are proving science right about entropy. The place is becoming a home for the bewildered. It is a joy to read – and very “special.” Outbreak of irrationality and denial every day, incomprehensible comments, slugfests, Chucking of maple syrup from banned maniacs from DT. Oooh!

    You couldn’t make it up.

    Come back! Sort em all aat!

  13. Jabba, please post a few words whenever you can, telling us how you are getting on. I am spending a fortune on candles in Santo Tomas, and would like to know when I can stop.

    • Dear be-warted one, those candles sound like an extravaganza !!!!

      I am staying with my atheistic brother in Burgundy,who is being a little more restrained than usual in his attacks against religion generally and Catholicism especially, though I must admit that I would not put up with his rather foolish notiuon that Saint Augustine was “very stupid” (?????)

      He falsely imagines the subject matter of the City of God to be Angels ,,

      My knee improves gradually, I suppose.

  14. What an interesting family the Jabbas clearly are!

    Toad didn’t know your knee was involved.
    Better than your neck, probably, though.

    He gets a bulk discount on the candles. Keep keeping us posted.

Leave a Reply

